Let’s talk about The Clone Wars: Season 2

img-20170216-wa0000

Time for another chat about The Clone Wars! The season kicks off with a Cad Bane story arch. He cropped up at the very end of season 1 – he’s a ruthless bounty hunter, now hired by Darth Sidious to steal a Jedi Holocron from the temple on Coruscant. Bane is an interesting character and I’ve liked all of the episodes he’s been in so far. He’s actually quite a rare breed in the Star Wars universe in that he is a bad guy who is pretty successful. So far I think I’ve seen all of his plans come off!

Overall the series got off to a great start, all the episodes on Geonosis were cracking and I will be starting a ‘I Love Luminara/Ahsoka/Barriss’ Fan Club any day now! The episodes on Mandalore weren’t what I was expecting but they were interesting and provided some much needed Obi-Wan character development and screen time. I liked Duchess Satine and found her an interesting new character, I’m looking forward to finding out a bit more of her background with Obi-Wan.

Towards the end of the series we get a guest appearance from a young Boba Fett. He has teamed up with Aurra Sing and Bossk – interesting mentors for the young bounty hunter to be! This was another great arch, Boba is out for revenge against Mace Windu (not the easiest man to try and assassinate tbh…), and it was interesting to watch Mace contemplate the consequences of his killing Jango in Attack of the Clones. Plus these episodes provided us with a lot of Mace in general which is always good by me!

It was also cool to see Ahsoka (and Master Plo Koon) come to the rescue of Anakin, it made a nice change! It was also good to watch Ahsoka team up with Master Plo, they have a lovely dynamic, given their history, and Ahsoka is a little more chilled when she is around him. It was a good side of her to see. Plus Master Plo is 1000% cooler than everyone else in the series! 🙂

plo_koon_clone_wars
Dream team!

Of course, I can’t talk about this particular story arc without mentioning the heroics of R2-D2! Anakin and Mace are trapped on a felled Star Destroyer and it’s up to Artoo to get them help by busting out of there, getting past Aurra and Boba, and raising the alarm with the Jedi. Mace’s acknowledgement of Artoo’s efforts at the end provided all the lovely, warm and fuzzy feels a girl could ever want! ❤

My main gripe with season 2 – we needed more Dooku and Ventress action. I mean, Ventress just because she is awesome and Dooku because, well this is The Clone Wars, his absence is…conspicuous!

Top episodes:-

Episode 6 – Weapons Factory – I knew I was going to love this episode the minute Jedi Master Luminara walked on screen! This time we got to meet her Padawan – Barriss Offee whom I adored. I loved seeing Barriss and Ahsoka team up, and it’s always good to see Luminara and Anakin bounce off each other. They are polar opposites and it’s fun to see their chemistry on screen. Whilst this was an action packed episode, it was also a pretty emotional one with Ahsoka and Barriss prepared to make the ultimate sacrifice to destroy the weapons factory.

I also thought Luminara’s mentioning at the end ‘I never gave up on my padawan, it’s just when the time comes I am prepared to let her go’ was weirdly chilling. I don’t know how things are going to pan out with Anakin and Ahsoka. Will they fight? Will he kill her? Sometimes when I’m watching The Clone Wars, I forget what’s coming and it’s lines like this that remind me Anakin will eventually become Darth Vader. But where does this leave Ahsoka?

Episode 7 – Legacy of Terror – whaaaaat?! Zombies in space?! Just about the best combination there is! This episode was creepy af as Anakin and Obi-Wan try to help out Master Luminara who has become trapped in a hive full of Geonosian zombies! Super creepy and a super cool episode. Luminara also kicks butt in this episode, again. Always assume that an episode will be one of my faves if it includes her! She’s very different to any of the other female characters in the Star Wars universe…cool, calm and collected, even in the presence of undead bugs!

Episode 8 – Brain Invaders – this episode was as disturbing as the title suggested. Sqeamishness aside however it was a really great episode and provided some key moments for me. Once again we have Barriss and Ahsoka team up which I am always going to love, they are very different characters and they always have an interesting dynamic when they work together. However what made this episode stand out for me was Anakin’s story. Probably for the first time in the Clone Wars we get a very strong connection between Anakin and Darth Vader. Until now he has always been reckless and headstrong, but these traits aren’t what made him fall to the dark side. The quite hum of Vader’s music in the background was chilling. Another reminder of where we are heading in this series…

This episode was an emotional rollercoster – straight of the back of a Vader-esqe moment we get another lovely Anakin/Ahsoka moment right at the end of the episode. Ahhh my gahhhd I literally live for these moments! Final note: Ahsoka, Barriss and Kit Fisto all in one episode??!! Yasssss!!! More like this please Clone Wars!

Overall: a cracking series, only really missing Ventress and Dooku but I suppose with Cad Bane, Hondo and Aurra Sing – how many baddies do you really need?!

Rating: 4 1/2 Death Stars for series 2 of The Clone Wars!

downloaddownloaddownloaddownloadhalf death star

Leave a Reply

